question on creating Transceiver Chip
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:49 am
question on creating Transceiver Chip
Hello,
since the transceiver requires same pin for both in and output depending on the signal of the 'Dir' pin input, is there a way to create such chip in LogicCircuit? Thanks!
V/r,
Long
p.s: I am trying to simulate AHC245
since the transceiver requires same pin for both in and output depending on the signal of the 'Dir' pin input, is there a way to create such chip in LogicCircuit? Thanks!
V/r,
Long
p.s: I am trying to simulate AHC245
Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip
Hello Long,
Yes, the latest version you can download allows you to use pins in both directions. You’ll probably need tri state buffer to control the direction. Basically both input and output pins can be used interchangeably on circuits. However if you plan to use truth table you’d better use them accordingly as it sending input signal to input pins only and reading results from output pins.
Hope this is answering your question.
Eugene
Yes, the latest version you can download allows you to use pins in both directions. You’ll probably need tri state buffer to control the direction. Basically both input and output pins can be used interchangeably on circuits. However if you plan to use truth table you’d better use them accordingly as it sending input signal to input pins only and reading results from output pins.
Hope this is answering your question.
Eugene
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:49 am
Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip
Hi Eugene,
I am getting 'input pin connected to more than one output pin that are not tri-state capable' error on the attached circuit. What am I doing wrong? Thanks!
V/r,
Long
I am getting 'input pin connected to more than one output pin that are not tri-state capable' error on the attached circuit. What am I doing wrong? Thanks!
V/r,
Long
- Attachments
-
- transceiver.CircuitProject
- (14.72 KiB) Downloaded 1243 times
Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip
You can connect multiple outputs of tri state together, but you can’t connect multiple none try-states outputs to any input, as it will be confuse which one to use as input.
In your case you have connected clock output and output from tri-state to input of another tri-state.
In your case you have connected clock output and output from tri-state to input of another tri-state.
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:49 am
Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip
got it. Thanks!
Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip
Sure, please share your circuit after you’ve done. I am eager to see it.
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:49 am
Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip
Here is the implementation and testing circuit for 6116 and 245 chips.
Eugene,
please continue supporting VS2010, Thanks!
V/r,
Long
Eugene,
please continue supporting VS2010, Thanks!
V/r,
Long
- Attachments
-
- 8bitsTransceiverAndSram.CircuitProject
- (153 KiB) Downloaded 1173 times
Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip
Cool.
What are you doing with source code? Are you extending it somehow?
What are you doing with source code? Are you extending it somehow?
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:49 am
Re: question on creating Transceiver Chip
As the chip's functional spec gets complex, it becomes tedious or impossible to implement with current built-in logic abstraction. I am contemplating of extending LogicCircuit by creating a new built-in chip type that will provides LogicCircuit interface for external dll via interop call. Basically, the logic function is implemented as external c++ dynamically link library. This capability might not help the LogicCircuit users directly, but it will allow programmers to extend the functionality of LogicCircuit.